General Assembly

The General Assembly is HOTREC’s highest decision-making body and brings together the representatives of all members associations. It is notably responsible for:

  • Approving applications for membership and observer status;
  • Electing the HOTREC President and other members of the Executive Committee;
  • Approving the annual accounts and determining the budget;
  • Amending the statutes and the bye-laws of the association;
  • Adopting HOTREC position papers.

The General Assembly generally takes decisions by consensus.

The General Assembly usually meets twice per year.

The member associations take turns in hosting the General Assembly according to a rotating schedule. In addition, the Executive Committee chaired by the President, has the authority to take decisions on relevant issues. The day-to-day management of HOTREC Secretariat and its activities are overseen by the CEO. Moreover, HOTREC’s Task Forces and Committees play an important role in the organisation. Each Task Force and Committee is in charge of one specific policy area and gathers the expertise of several representatives of HOTREC’s members.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of eleven members, which have been elected by the General Assembly for two years.

The Executive Committee consists of eleven members, which have been elected by the General Assembly for two years. The Executive Committee is chaired by the President.
The Chief Executive Officer prepares and attends the Executive Committee’s meetings.


The members of HOTREC’s Executive Committee:

  • Jens Zimmer Christensen – President – Denmark
  • Marc Van Muylders – Vice-President – Belgium
  • Adrian Cummins – Treasurer – Ireland
  • Ramón Estalella – Member – Spain 
  • Samuel Lacombe – Member – France 
  • Markus Luthe – Member – Germany 
  • Julian Bystrzanowski – Member – Poland
  • Antonio Flamini – Member – Italy
  • Václav Stárek – Member – Czech Republic
  • Morten Thorvaldsen – Member – Norway 
  • Alexandros Vassilikos – Member – Greece
  • Joan Gaspart – Observer – Spain 
  • Bernd Geyer – Honorary President – Germany 


The Brussels-based Secretariat, is in charge of the day-to-day management of the association and its activities.
The Secretariat works in close liaison with the President and the Executive Committee, as well as member associations. It is led by the Chief Executive Officer.

General Management

Christian de Barrin

Christian de Barrin

Chief Executive Officer

  • Day to day management of the association;
  • Develop and manage communication and public affairs strategies;
  • HOTREC spokesperson before EU media;
  • Coordinate and manage strategic alliances;
  • Representation of HOTREC before EU institutions, stakeholders and external conferences;
  • Foster knowledge and best practice sharing amongst team and members;
  • EU Policy Lobbying Strategy planning in close collaboration with President and ExCom;
  • Human resources planning and evaluation.


Guillaume Brouillet

Guillaume Brouillet

Office Manager & Membership Coordinator

  • Supports the CEO in his day to day administrative, financial, Membership and management tasks;
  • Monitor and manage accounts; link with authorities and administrations;
  • Optimise external services’ contracts;
  • Membership coordination and development;
  • Support Team Members advocacy campaigns and participation to EU projects;
  • Coordination General Assemblies in close liaison with HOTREC Members;
  • Manage and coordinate the IT and databases.


Policy and Regulatory Affairs

Marta Machado

Marta Machado

Public Affairs Manager

  • Social Affairs;
  • Tourism;
  • Visa Policy;
  • Alcohol;
  • Data Protection;
  • Other areas: EU Funding, organisation of Social Affairs Task Force, Sectorial Social Dialogue and Late Night Establishments Task Force.
Dániel Makay

Dániel Makay

Public Affairs Manager

  • Digital issues;
  • Collaborative economy;
  • Taxation;
  • Hotel classification (Hotelstars Union);
  • Quality;
  • Standardisation;
  • Accessibility;
  • Statistics;
  • Other areas: organisation of Distribution Task Force, Shadow Economy Task Force.
Alexis Waravka

Alexis Waravka

Public Affairs Manager

  • Consumer affairs;
  • Food;
  • Copyright;
  • Payment systems and services;
  • Competition;
  • Sustainability;
  • Other areas: Organisation of Restaurant & Pub Task Force & Advisory role on Statutes/ By-laws (compliance).


Alessia Angiulli

Alessia Angiulli

Publication, Event and Social Media Officer

  • Internal communications;
  • External communications;
  • Publications;
  • Events;
  • Social media;
  • Website management.

See also / Committees & Task Forces


See also / Collaboration with other stakeholders